Make your own free website on Tripod.com

"Our Ancestors of Albert County"

Our Schools of Albert County

Home
Mayors and Councilors that Served Albert County
Albert County Heritage Photo Album
Attractions
History
Hospital History of Albert County
Timber - The Story of Point Wolfe of Fundy National Park
Where is
Sports in Albert County
Surname Interest, Home Pages & Family Tree Links
Osborne Corner and Family History
Dawson Settlement and Family History
New Ireland Albert County
Our Schools of Albert County
Germantown Cemetery Restoration Project
Family Reunions
Cemeteries Of Albert County
Genealogy Research Links
Gen Resources OLD PAGE from Albert County GenWeb
Resources OLD PAGE from Albert County GenWeb
Berryman Burial Ground
Churches of Albert County
Wooden Bridges History
Cook Book of Chosen Family Favorites: A Collection of Recipes & Writings from Albert County
Community Groups
World War I & II Photo Album of Albert County
Memory of Our Fellow Genealogists of Albert County Families

Our Schools

of

Albert County

 

Looking for pictures of the past, of the school days of Albert County, stories and the history behind them. Please contact: Sheila Hannah mailto:sheilahannah@msn.com

 

History of Riverside Consolidated School
Riverside Consolidated School
from the Chronicle

The Albert County Chronicle

May 23, 2005

History of Riverside Consolidated School

 

At the turn of the century, “consolidation” of rural school was an educational movement being promoted all across Canada. By building a large central school with well-educated teachers and better equipment, the children in outlying rural communities would receive the same educational advantages as children who lived in larger centres.

   In 1903 New Brunswick passed legislation encouraging the establishment of consolidated schools. The Honourable Abner Reid McClelan, a resident of Riverside who was a former lieutenant-governor of the province provided the thrust to build such a school by donating $5,000 towards its construction. The province paid $1,000 and the remaining $14,000 was paid by local taxpayers.

   In July of 1904 construction of the school began on a rise of highland on the left bank of the Shepody River, between the village of Riverside Albert. The architect, Watson Reid of Riverside, supervised the construction of the three story wooden building with its foundation of freestone in Midway and New Ireland.

   When Riverside Consolidated opened in September of 1905, 225 students filed through the doors and experienced the most modern facilities available at the time. The school had five departments and staff of seven teachers. The Albert County Grammar school was one department, enabling students to prepare for University Matriculation. The other departments included Household or Domestic Science, manual Training, Agriculture and school Gardening. Everyone was enthusiastic about the potential of the new school and many residents donated equipment and library books.

   Although classes began in September 1905, the formal opening ceremony took place June 15, 1906. The New Brunswick Premier Tweedie Chief Superintendent of Education, J.R. Inch and many other officials arrived by way of the steamer “Wilfred C.” at the Riverside Wharf. There they were met by Honourable A.R. McClelan and the drum and bugle of Albert performed.

   In the years since 1905 the Riverside Consolidated School has indeed provided a sound education, former students include a Prime Minister of Canada, leaders in all professions and occupations and most importantly – respected community citizens. Many changes to the Riverside-Albert area were a bustling commercial centre. However, some things have not changes. The school still stands on the original location, looking mush the same as it did in 1905 and Riverside Consolidated School is still committed to providing the best educational opportunities possible to the students who enter its doors!

   On June 12, 1997 a plaque was unveiled that now designated the Riverside Consolidated School as a “historic building”.

   The Riverside Consolidated School is New Brunswick’s oldest consolidated school to be still in continuous use.

Edgetts Landing School 1900
Edgetts Landing School 1900.jpg
from the Chroicle
Edgett’s Landing School Early 1900’s
 
The school was located on Highway 114
The property is now owned by Roy MacKay
Surrey School
Surrey School .jpg
from the Chronicle
Surrey School
 Now demolished, was located in the rear of
Cooke’s Kwik Mart, Hillsborough.
Later it became the home of Floyd Smith.
The Hebron School
The Hebron School .jpg
from the Chronicle
Story to the right

The Hebron School
img_0002.jpg
Submitted By: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

The Hebron School
 Fern McCurdy, a resident of the Kinsmen House in Riverview has fond memories of Hebron School, Hebron, Albert County. In this article, she recalls the school, built in 1882 with clapboard and birchbark insulation. The school building is still there although the last class was held in 1926.
    "The first school was built on land owned by Wint Akerley, located across from where the present school now sits. The trustees decided to erect a new school on land owned by James Smith and the original school was sold to Andrew Alcorn who moved it to      his property.
    The present school building, constructed in 1882 was erected on a stone foundation with clapboards on the exterior over birch bark insulation. The interior finished by John Cannon was plaster over lathes.
    The interior was one large room with a wood stove in the center. Two large blackboards were painted on the plastered walls and the teacher's desk was placed on a raised platform at the rear. The room had four windows one on each side.
    The handmade school desks came from the first school and each desk accommodated two children. Gertrude Wilbur, a teacher, organised a social to fund the purchase of new desks. The new desks also held two children and each child had an inkwell and a ridge at the front to prevent books from sliding.
    “We bought our own textbooks and used a slate and slate pencil instead of notebooks. School was discontinued in January and February because of inclement weather.
    The teachers boarded in various homes owned by the Alcorns, Sinclairs and Hanlons and were paid by a government grant and tax collections. The last teacher, Ellis Wilbur received a salary of $419.00 for the trustees and a grant of $120.00 for the year. Room and board cost $2.00 per week.
    The final year of operation, pupil registration was down and it was decided to send the remaining students to school in Alma by horse drawn van. The school, still standing today is on the Sinclair property in Hebron."
Hopewell School
hopewellschool.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Hopewell School

Edgetts Landing School
edgettslandingschool.jpg
Submitted by: Phyllis and Melven Dewolfe

Edgetts Landing School
in
1930 or 1940's

Waterside School
watersideschool.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe
Waterside School after closure
img_0004.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Add your content here

Harvey School Just before closure
img_0007.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Add your content here

Hastings School
img_0003.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Add your content here

Point Wolfe School
img_0006.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Add your content here

Germantown School
img_0001.jpg
Submitted By: Phillis & Melven Dewolfe

Germantown School
June 11, 1931

Alma Superior School
img_0005.jpg
Submitted by: Phillis & Melven Dewofe

Alma Superior School
in
1943
Rudford Cooper standing in front (died about 2006)

Add your content here

Class of Germantown School 1917
Class of Germantown School 1917
Submitted by: Phy & Mel Dewolfe

Germantown School 1917  Teacher: Martha Cox

 L to R

Back row:

Ida Fullerton, Edna Jones, Mae Butland, Georgia Wallace, Lissie Fenton, Rosalie Smith, Etta Butland.

3rd Row:

Myles Porter, Iva Williamson, Kate Fenton, Martha Butland, Arthur Fenton, Orian Porter, Aubrey Kennie, Russell Wallace.

1&2nd Row:

Florence Fullerton, Arvilla Smith, Viola Douhtwright, Theora Porter, 4yrs old, Annie Kennie, Stanley Wilband, Claude Milton, Stella Butland, Harry Fullerton, Gordan Fullerton, Clifford Berryman, Stanley Butland.

Old West River School 1891
Old West River School 1891
Submitted by: Phy & Mel Dewolfe

 

Old West River School 1891 Teacher: Jessie Bishop

On Denis Beach Road Old

 

Names not in order:

Herbert Marks 6, Viola Cox 8, Mary Hyman 8, Sophronia Marks 13, Dave Marks 6, Willie Rogers 7, Annie Lyman 11, Georgia Marks 9, Clarence Cox 6, Tommy Martin 7, Lydia Marks 8, Laura Forsythe 14, Laura Marks 10, Annie Hanson 6, Laura Cox 11, Dora Martin 12, Stella Hanson 8, Adah Marks 8, Carrie Stewart 8, Marshall Kennie 12, Frankie Forsythe 8, Walter Marks 10.         

 
"NEW"
Albert County
Class School Records
Updated Jan 17, 2010

If you have something to share or post or ask a question please contact:
 
Genealogy with: Sheila Hannah Thank you for viewing Our Ancestors of Albert County Web Site.